Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
ITIL 2011 Qualifications
Share |

The ITIL® V3 Qualification Scheme

The IT Infrastructure Library® (ITIL®) is underpinned by a comprehensive qualifications scheme that provides certification for individuals across a number of levels, including bridging qualifications for those with certificates for earlier versions of ITIL. This page provides some introductory information relating to the ITIL Version 3 Qualifications Scheme.


What is a “qualification scheme”?

A qualification scheme is a roadmap for achieving a Professional Certification. It typically consists of a set of Intermediate Credentials which build and depend upon each other, which in total demonstrate that the skills and knowledge embedded in the Certification have been achieved.  The ITIL V3 qualification scheme is very different from the V2 in that it defines different subject matter ladders to climb, has more levels to the scheme, provides guidance on how to achieve each type and level of Certification, delineates the prerequisites for each level and lays out the roles and responsibilities of the different organisations participating in the scheme.


Why is there a new ITIL qualification scheme?

Although much of ITIL content is the same between Version 2 and Version 3, its scope, its orientation and the structure of its advice have evolved significantly. The new scheme takes these changes into account and therefore has become a modular points-based system.


How has the scheme changed?

There are several significant differences:

·   The level of Certification is based on credits you receive for passing examinations for specific Credentials. To progress through each level of Certification a minimum number of accumulated points are required. As in the ITIL V2 Scheme the first level of the V3 Certification is the Foundation level.


·   The second or Intermediate level of the Certification, which used to be called the “Practitioner” level, is now composed of two separate subject tracks – the Lifecycle Modules (3 credits each) and the Capability Modules (4 credits each).


·   The third level of certification, called ITIL Expert, is reached by receiving credits from either the Lifecycle Modules or the Capability Modules, followed by a Credential which assesses the complete understanding of the subject matter track. A total of 22 credits is needed to become an ITIL Expert.


·   A fourth level of certification, call ITIL Master, has been planned, but is not yet available.


·   The examinations themselves have been created within an academic framework that clearly structures the types and the levels of information required for each examination. Within this new framework, all examinations are multiple choice examinations.


·   Intermediate Lifecycle Stream - 5 individual credentials built around the five core OGC books: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operation and Continual Service Improvement.

·   Intermediate Capability Stream - 4 individual credentials loosely based on the current V2 offerings but broader in scope in line with the updated V3 content.

·   The owner of ITIL – the British Office of Government Commerce – has appointed the company APM Group to be the official ITIL Accreditor. In addition to creating the syllabus documents and maintaining the examination database, the APM Group has licensed other organisations including APMG UK, EXIN and ISEB as Examination Institutes. (


What is the difference between an APMG, an EXIN and an ISEB examination?

There is little difference. The examination questions used, the scoring and the certificates delivered are equivalent. There is a database of exam questions that all Examination Institutes use to create their examinations.


In what languages can the examinations be taken?

APM Group is committed to providing examinations in a wide array of languages, including English, German, French and Italian. Normally, the English version is available first, with the other languages following within a few months. For the availability of an exam in a given language, consult the Examination Institutes (see below).


I already have an ITIL certification. Do I have to redo it?

Existing ITIL certifications continue to be valid. However, as IT Service Providers make the move from ITIL V2 to ITIL V3, the older certifications will become of less interest. The ITIL 3 scheme includes several “Bridge” examinations that allow existing holders of ITIL certificates to upgrade their certifications to ITIL V3 via a “fast-track”. They may take shorter and less expensive bridge examinations that assume knowledge of ITIL V2, and concentrate on the differences between ITIL V2 and ITIL V3. An existing ITIL Foundation Certificate is worth 1.5 credits, Practitioner Certificates are worth 2 (singles) or 3.5 (clusters) credits, and a Manager’s Certificate is worth 17 credits. By passing a bridge examination (Foundation Bridge and Manager Bridge), one can receive sufficient points to attain the corresponding ITIL V3 level.


How do I prepare for ITIL V3 qualifications?

As part of the Qualification Scheme, the APM Group and its Examination Institutes authorise companies as Training Organisations (ATOs), and individuals as trainers (ATs). There are numerous ATOs which can be found by consulting the Examination Institutes website (see below).

As in the past, certification at levels higher than Foundation requires participation in a course offered by an ATO. Certification at the Foundation level does not require this participation, although it is recommended.


Are the examinations available on the internet?

All examinations are delivered under the responsibility of an Examination Institutes (EI). The EI decides whether to deliver examinations using the Internet, or deliver paper-based examinations. They are completely equivalent. For paper-based examinations it may take 2-3 weeks to learn the results.


Where can I find additional information?

More information on the ITIL Qualifications Scheme and the interactive credit profiler can be found on the official ITIL website at


ITIL® and IT Infrastructure Library® are Registered Trade Marks of the Cabinet Office


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal